Basics about Election, election commission and Articles.


The Electoral system in India is borrowed from the operation in Great Britain. Representation of the Peoples Act, 1950 deals with subjects like administrative machinery for conducting election, the poll by-election etc.
Representation of the Peoples Act, 1951 which provides for qualification of voters, preparation of electoral rolls and other concerned matters.
The Electoral system is based on adult suffrage, where by every citizen of India who is not less than 18 years. There are only single-member territorial constituencies and no functional or plural constituencies.
The Voter Identity Card was introduced in 1993.
Election commission: is a body charged with overseeing the implementation of election procedures. The exact name used varies from country to country, including such terms as “electoral commission“, “central election commission“, “electoral branch” or “electoral court”.
Each territorial constituency elects a single representative by a simple majority vote. It is not necessary for a candidate to secure an absolute majority. 
The candidate who secures the largest number of votes is declared elected. The Election Commission is a permanent and independent body established by the Constitution of India.
The first Chief Election Commissioner of India was Mr. Sukumar Sen. in 1952 in India.
First General Election Commissioner was held The Election Commission recognized as a State Party and National Party.
Chief Election Commissioner consists of one chief election commissioner and two election commissioner.
It delimits the constituencies for elections and allots the number of seats to each of them.
It fixes the election programme-dates, the number of polling booths and the declaration of the results.
It advices the President or the Governor on all electoral matters, including questions relating to the disqualification of the members.
It prepares guidelines for a code of conduct for candidates, political parties and voters.
It fixes the limits of election expenses and examines the accounts of the electoral expenditure.
It determines the criteria for recognizing political parties and decides their election symbols.
The term of the Chief Election Commissioner is for 6 years or till he/she attains the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier. He/she can be removed from the office in the same manner as the Judges of the Supreme Court.
He/she is not eligible for re-appointment. His/her salaries and allowances are met from the Consolidated Fund of India.
•Article 324: Superintendence, direction and control of elections to be vested in an Election Commission.
Article 325: No person to be ineligible for inclusion in, or to claim to be included in a special, electoral roll on grounds of religion, race, caste or sex.
•Article 326: Elections to the House of the people and to the Legislative Assemblies or States to be on the basis of adult suffrage.
•Article 327: Power of Parliament to make provisions with respect to elections to such Legislature.
•Article 328: Power of Legislature of a State to make provisions with respect to elections to such legislature.
•Article 329: Bar to interference by courts in electoral matters.
•Article 324: of the Constitution provides that the power of superintendence, direction and control of the elections to the Parliament, State Legislature, the office of the President and Vice-President of India, shall be vested in the Election Commission.