World Athletics Awards 2021

World Atheletes of the YearElaine Thompson-Herah (Jamica) and Karsten Warholm (Norway)
Female Rising StarAthing Mu (USA)
Male Rising StarErriyon Knighton(USA)
Member Federations AwardFederacion Costarricense de Atletismo (Costa Rica)
Inspiration AwardMutaz Barshim and Gianmarco Tamberi
President’s AwardPeter Diamond, Executive Vice President of NBC Olympic programming
Coaching Achievement AwardBobby Kersee (USA)
Woman of the Year AwardAnju Bobby George (India)
Jean-Pierre Durand World Athletics photograph of the Year AwardPhotograph by Ryan Pierse of the women’s high jump qualifying at the Tokyo Olympic Games.

Elaine Thompson-Herah from Jamaica retained one of the finest sprint seasons in 2021. She retained her Olympic 100 m and 200 m titles in Tokyo Olympics and added a third gold medal in the 4x100m relay. Thompson- Herah earned the women’s award among finalists that included Sifan Hassan (Netherlands, 5000 m/10,000 m), Faith Kipyegon (Kenya, 1500 m), Sydney McLaughlin (USA, 400m hurdles) and Yulimar Rojas (Venezuela, triple jump). Warholm twice broke what was the longest- standing world record among men’s track races set by American Kevin Young, who went 46-78 in the 1992 Olympic final. Warholm lowered it to 46-70 on July 1, then to 45-94 in the Tokyo Olympic final. Warholm won the men’s award over fellow Olympic gold medalists Joshua Cheptegei (Uganda, 5000 m), Ryan Grouser (USA, shot put), Mondo Duplantis (Sweden, pole vault) and Eliud Kipchoge (Kenya, marathon). Former Indian sprinter Anju Bobby George was awarded ‘Woman of the Year’ by the World Athletics for her efforts in advancing the sport in India and for inspiring more women to follow her footsteps.