What is the post of a Governor? Who appoints the Governor?

What is the post of a Governor in India?

  • The Governors in India are the constitutional heads and all executive actions of a state are taken in their name
  • They are the figurative heads of the state government
  • The Governors head India’s 29 states and 7 union territories
  • A governor must act according to the advice of council ministers, headed by the Chief Minister

Who appoints the Governor?

They are appointed by the President for a term of five years.

What is the difference between the State Governor and Lieutenant Governor?

  • A governor is the head of the state while a Lieutenant Governor is the head of a union territory.
  • The union territories are administered by the President through an administrator, who is appointed by him with a suitable designation — called either Lieutenant Governor, Chief Commissioner, or Administrator.
  • In Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Puducherry and Delhi, the administrator is called Lt Governor, while in Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu and Lakshadweep, he/ she is known as an Administrator.