India’s First Nobel Prize

  • 1913: Literature: Rabindranath Tagore; also the first Asian to win the prize
  • 1930: Physics: Sir C. V. Raman; first Asian and first non-white person to win Science nobel prize.
  • 1979: Peace: Mother Teresa; Indian citizen of Albanian origin
  • 1998: Economics: Amartya Sen: First Indian for Economics
  • 2014: Peace: Kailash Sathyarthi; first Indian-born recipient in Peace category