Satavahana Empire

1. After the decline of Mauryan empire, Satavahana empire ruled most part of India for about 450 years.
2. The Satavahana empire are credited for establishing peace in the country. They effectively resist the onslaught of foreigners after the decline of Mauryan Empire.
3. The Satavahanas were the first to issue coins with their rulers embossed on it.
4. Simuka was the founder of Satavahana empire.
5. Simuka conquered the present-day Maharashtra and parts of Madhya Pradesh (including Malwa).
6. Srikakulam was the capital of Satavahana empire.
7. Simuka ruled for about 23 years (230-207 B.C.).
8. Simuka was succeeded by his brother Kanha who extended the empire towards South India.
9. Satkarni-I was the 6th ruler of the Satavahana empire. He ruled for 56 years (180–124 BC).
10. Satkarni-I defeated the Sunga dynasty of North India.
11. Satkarni-I extended Satavahana rule over Madhya Pradesh and pushed back the Sakas from Pataliputra.
12. Satkarni-I was mentioned in Hathigumpha inscription of Kharavela.
13. According to Purana he conquered Kalinga after the death of Kharavela.
14. Hala was the 17th king of Satavahan empire. He compiled the Gatha Saptashati (in Prakrit language) which was based on love.
15. Gautamiputra Satkarni was the 23rd ruler of the Satavahana empire. He was the greatest ruler of Satavahana empire.
16. Gautamiputra Satkarni ruled Satavahana empire from 78-102 A.D. He had the title of Brahmana.
17. Gautamiputra Satkarni revived the Satavahana empire by destroying the Shakas (Western Kshatrapas), Yavanas (Indo-Greeks) and Pahlavas (Indo-Parthians). He defeated Nahapana, the Saka king.
18. Achievements of Gautamiputra Satkarni was mentioned in Nasik inscription composed by his mother, Gautami.
19. Satavahanas ruler were the first rulers to donate land to Brahmanas.
20. Nasik and Nanaghat are the important inscription which give detail information of Satavahana empire.