History of World Cup Hockey

The Hockey World Cup is an international field hockey competition organised by the International Hockey Federation (FIH). The tournament was started in 1971. It is held every four years. Five countries have dominated the event’s history. Pakistan is the most successful team, having won the tournament four times. The Netherlands have won three titles, and Germany and Australia have each won two titles. India won the tournament once.

The first three tournaments were held every two years. The 1978 Cup was the only tournament held three years from the previous tournament. Since 1982, the tournament has been held after every four years.

Last Hockey World Cup (13th edition) was held in the year 2014 in The Hague, Netherlands. Australia won the 2014 Hockey World Cup after defeating Netherlands in the finals. The 14th edition of the Hockey World Cup 2018 started from November 28 and continued till December 16 in Bhubaneswar, Odisha (India). Belgium won the Hockey World Cup 2018 by defeating Netherlands 3-2 in the final on a penalty shoot-out after a 0–0 draw.

World Cup Hockey Winners List-

1971PakistanSpainBarcelona, Spain
1973NetherlandsIndiaAmstelveen, Netherlands
1975IndiaPakistanKuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1978PakistanNetherlandsBuenos Aires, Argentina
1982PakistanWest GermanyBombay, India
1986AustraliaEnglandLondon, England
1990NetherlandsPakistanLahore, Pakistan
1994PakistanNetherlandsSydney, Australia
1998NetherlandsSpainUtrecht, Netherlands
2002GermanyAustraliaKuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2006GermanyAustraliaMönchengladbach, Germany
2010AustraliaGermanyNew Delhi, India
2014AustraliaNetherlandsThe Hague, Netherlands
2018BelgiumNetherlandsOdisha, India

Olympic Medals in Hockey for India

1932Los AngelesGold
1968Mexico CityBronze