Important points on Buddhism and Gautam Buddha:

1. Gautam Buddha was the founder of Buddhism.
2. Real name of Gautam Buddha was Siddhartha. He was also known as Sakyamuni or Tathagata.
3. Gautam Buddha was born in 563 BC at Lumbini (near Kapilvastu) in Nepal.
4. Gautam Buddha belonged to the Sakya clan of Kshatriya.
5. His father Suddhodana was the king of Kapilvastu.
6. His mother name was Mahamaya. She belong to Kosala dynasty. She died after 7 days of his birth.
7. Gautam Buddha was married to Yasodhara at the age of 16. He had a son named Rahula.
8. Gautam Buddha after seeing the “Four Passing Sights”: an old crippled man, a sick man, a dead man, and a holy man with no home, decided to become a holy man and look for the answer to the problem of birth, old age, sickness and death.
9. Gautam Buddha attained enlightenment at Bodh Gaya in Magadha (Bihar).
10. Gautam Buddha delivered his first sermon at Sarnath, Uttar Pradesh. His first sermon is called Dharmachakrapravartan or Turning of the Wheel of Law.
11. Gautam Buddha preached most of his sermons at Sravasti.
12. Gautam Buddha attained Mahaparinirvana in 483 B.C. at Kushinagar, Uttar Pradesh at the age of 80.
13. Five disciples of Gautam Buddha were Upali, Asvajit, Mogallana, Ananda and Sariputra.